Saïd Sayrafiezadeh wins Whiting Writers' Award

Congratulations are in order for Saïd Sayrafiezadeh who is a recipient of this year’s Whiting Writers’ Award!

Saïd won us over with his 2009 memoir When Skateboards Will Be Free, published by Random House. The book is a revelation of honest-to-god storytelling, “heartbreaking and hilarious…” said The Guardian, where it was an editor’s pick. And in 2009 it was selected as one of the 10 best books by Dwight Garner of The New York Times.

The Whiting Writers’ Award is given annually to ten emerging writers in fiction, nonfiction, poetry and plays, an obvious bellwether for the up-and-coming with previous winners including Jonathan Franzen and Michael Cunningham.

Read our interview with Saïd where he discusses his much acclaimed memoir.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: